Bismillah, alhamdulillah: Prince Charles from Britain once remarked about the ugly tall towers that were appearing in London. I remember him talking about this as a young teenager. At the time I wondered why he thought this was so important but with the passage of time I have begun to understand the social and human  impact of architecture.

Traditional v modern
I met an architect as a patient and we started talking about what makes a really good health centre, architecturally speaking. ‘Don’t  expansive spaces and high ceilings give a sense of well being’ I asked. He did not agree. 

His response was: A health centre is somewhere I come when I am sick. I want to feel comfortable. I don’t want to feel that I am in a shopping mall. The mall experience is different, it is not cosy and caring but large and impersonal. 

I couldn’t help but think he had put his finger on something important.

Leave a Reply

